You are here

Directors' Cup awarded to Springville High

Submitted by lana.hiskey on Mon, 11/03/2014 - 1:16pm
Carey White

During Tuesday’s Pep Assembly, the Utah Interscholastic Athletic Administrators presented Springville High School’s Student Body President Preston Adams and Principal Mike Brown the Directors' Cup for 4A schools in the state of Utah for the 2013-2014 school year.  The Directors' Cup is based on three components:  How the school finishes in state competitions, the combined GPA for each program that competes at state competitions, and the UHSSA sportsmanship initiative.

Congratulations to Springville High School!  Springville High School represents all of the positive outcomes that result from participation in interscholastic athletics. The “Directors' Cup” was awarded to Springville High School by the Utah Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (UIAAA) for achieving the highest cumulative point total in 4A based on state tournament results in all sports (boys and girls) and the successful implementation of the “Raise The Bar” sportsmanship initiative. 

"This is an award that rewards excellence in the classroom, on the playing field, and in the way SHS treats others,” said Rob Cuff, Director UHSAA

Principal Mike Brown credits the Utah High School Activities Association's (UHSAA) sportsmanship initiative “Raise the Bar” program, which focuses on building character through teaching, enforcing, awarding, and modeling appropriate and ethical behavior.

Mr. Brown commented, “This award is a great honor.  It is a whole school/community award.  It should be celebrated by every student, teacher, coach, parent, and community member.  It shows what we have known all along, Springville High School is a great place where we engage, empower, and collaborate with our students for success.”  Springville High School is truly a community centered school.

Principal Brown wants to recognize the contributions of SHS Athletic Director, Cathi Jarvis and Assistant Principal, Scott Johnson, and of course all of our faculty and coaches for putting so much time and effort in our athletic teams and an emphasis on sportsmanship and academics with our student body and athletic teams. 

The Cup will be on display both at SHS and the UHSAA offices in Salt Lake City.

Pictured from left to right:  Preston Adams (SHS Student Body President), Principal Mike Brown, Asst. Principal Scott Johnson, Dave Boyack (UIAAA President), Marc Hunter (UIAAA Rep), Everett Kelepolo (Nebo School District), Dean Rowley (Nebo School District Board Member), Springville Mayor Wilford Clyde, and Natalie Clyde.