Nebo's National Career and Technology Students Recognized

Submitted by lana.hiskey on Mon, 08/15/2022 - 16:31
Maple Mountain High School– FCCLA National Winners and Advisors
Salem Hills High School – FCCLA National Winners and Advisors
Advanced Learning Center (ALC) and Maple Mountain High Skills USA National Winner Seth Christmas

This month, the Nebo School Board of Education recognized more National winners in the Career, Technology and Education Department across three high school programs.

In Nebo School District, we have the following student organizations:
• DECA - Distributive Education Clubs of America
• FBLA  - Future Business Leaders of America
• Educators Rising
• FCCLA - Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America
• FFA - Future Farmers of America
• HOSA - Future Health Professionals (Formerly Health Occupations Student Organization)
• TSA - Technical Student Organization

Alan Ashton, Nebo’s CTE Coordinator, introduced each of the Career and Technology Education student organizations as well as presented Nebo’s National winners.

First, Nebo’s student representatives from FCCLA and Skills USA who placed at National Competitions. These students earned the right to compete at nationals by winning regional and then state events. Thank you for the time and dedication each student put into developing additional skills. Thank you to the advisors and mentors that work with all of our student organizations.

Maple Mountain High School– FCCLA
First Place – Della Wilkins – Repurpose & Design
Second Place – Miriam Brophy – Fashion Construction
Third Place – Elaine Bleazard – Fashion Construction
Third Place – Miles Napierski – Fashion Design
Advisors – Jessica Knotts, Kathryn Crandall, Savanah Davies, & Alexandra Tracy

Jessica Knotts, Maple Mountain High Advisor, was honored with the 2022 National FCCLA Spirit of Advising Award.

Salem Hills High School – FCCLA
First Place – Kaitlyn Miller – Promoting and Publicizing FCCLA
First Place – Sydney Murdoch – Promoting and Publicizing FCCLA
Third Place – Samantha Walker – Interior Design
Advisors – Mary Alice McCarlie, Kate Finlinson, Whitney Black, & Laurie Hansen

Aubrey Turnbow, Salem Hills High advisor, is also the Utah State FCCLA Director. Thank you for all your time and effort in serving the state.

Advanced Learning Center (ALC) and Maple Mountain High SkillsUSA
First Place – Seth Christmas –  Collision Repair Technology Division
Advisors – Chet Harmer & Jared Massic

Alan Ashton, Nebo’s CTE Coordinator, was honored as the FCCLA School Administrator of the Year Award this past February 2022.

Alan stated, “We appreciate the support of district and school administrators and the Nebo Board of Education for helping us provide amazing opportunities for Nebo Students.  Also, I want to add a special thank you to our Nebo parents who trust us with their students’ education and sacrifice so much time and resources to help their children grow.”

#TheClimb #NeboHero #NeboSchoolDistrict #StudentSuccess #EmpowerStudents #EngageStudents #FocusOnStudents #LoveUTpublicSchools #UtPol #UtEd #ThankATeacher #LoveTeaching

By Lana Hiskey