Utah's Teacher of the Year in Nebo, KyLynn James

Lana Hiskey

Nebo School District’s KyLynn James, a Salem Junior High health teacher, was named the Utah Junior High School Health Teacher of the Year by the Utah Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (UAHPERD). 

John Allan, Nebo District health specialist, said, “I met Kylynn this summer as we worked on a curriculum project. It took me no time to discover that this teacher had a great command of the curriculum and was a great teacher. Kylynn is a true professional and a great asset to the Salem Junior High faculty.” 

International Honors for Nebo Student Scientists


During the last week of April, Hayden Heaton and Dallas Jensen, from Mt. Nebo Junior in Nebo School District, traveled to Houston Texas to compete in the International Science Fair called International Sustainable World (Energy, Engineering & Environment) Project Olympiad I-SWEEEP.  Over 60 countries were represented along with projects from over 40 states.  At the science fair, Hayden and Dallas had the opportunity to share their science project, “Pollution Solution,” with judges from across the world for three days of judging and other activities.  

Nebo’s Native American Program Graduates 100 Percent

Lana Hiskey

The Title VII Indian Education program knows how to celebrate the Native American graduates. These amazing graduates vary greatly. Their interests range from computers to discus throwing, and GPAs range from 2.4 to 3.98. Their college choices range from San Francisco University to Northern Arizona. Yet, all graduates share a common thread - these students have indigenous ancestry.

Nebo Education Foundation Gives Grants to Schools

The Nebo Education Foundation board met on May 3, 2016, to discuss the many grants and needs across the district. This Foundation Board functions through generous donations made by individuals and businesses as well as fundraisers where all the money goes to educate students in Nebo School District. 

Video: SHHS students sing

Salem Hills High students show their patriotism by an impromptu singing of "The Star Spangled Banner". Now students and staff stop each and every Friday to show their devotion to our country. The American Sign Language students have even joined in and sign the National Anthem. This act of patriotism stirs the soul. Thank you Nebo students.

Nebo School District Retirees 2016 - Answer to Wednesday's Challenge

Nebo School District Retirees 2016

A total of 60 Nebo employees are retiring for a total of 1,585 years of service in Nebo. Congratulations for all your service to Nebo students. 

(Congratulations to Marjean Strong for answering this week's "Where Are We Wednesday?" sponsored by Wiggy Wash.

Riverview’s remarkable Caleb Eliason’s team won the Goalball Utah State Championship


Riverview’s remarkable Caleb Eliason’s team won the Goalball Utah State Championship. Goalball is a team sport designed for blind or visually impaired athletes and is part of the Paralympics. 

Caleb is a fifth-grade student at Riverview. Spent time teaching his classmates how to play Goalball. He blindfolded them so they would have some idea how it feels to play without being able to see. 

KSL Teacher Feature–Karen Thomas, Westside Elementary

Lana Hiskey


Westside Elementary was surprised when a KSL reporter, Alex Kirry, and manager of Zion’s Bank, Ed Christianson, awarded Karen Thomas with the KSL Teacher Feature Award in May 2016. 

Nebo's Youth Philharmonic Orchestra

The Nebo Youth Philharmonic Orchestra recently held their Spring Concert. This prestigious orchestra is comprised of students from each of Nebo’s high schools and many of Nebo’s junior high schools.

The showcase featured concerto movements including McKabe Jolley on alto saxophone, John Andelin on viola, and Emily Wood on piano. The orchestra performed concert pieces from their Abravanel Hall performances as well as some pop favorites such as Lord of the Rings highlights and a Star Wars Epic Suite.

Summer Bright Ideas

Mary Lynn Lewis

Please download the Summer Bright Ideas flyer for details.