Local Business donates to the Nebo Education Foundation

Lana H. Hiskey - Public Information Officer - Nebo School District

Local State Farm Insurance agent, Lance Wilson along with retired State Farm agent Steve Wilson, present Nebo Foundation Director, Lana Hiskey a check for $500 from State Farm Insurance in recognition of the Wilson’s countless hours of volunteer service to the schools in Nebo District. The money will be used to enhance various programs at the local high schools.

Barnett Elementary Presented to Nebo School Board of Education

Lana H. Hiskey - Public Information Officer - Nebo School District

Barnett Elementary’s after-school choir delighted the Nebo School Board of Education with two choral numbers. This after-school choir was formed four years ago and has grown to over 80 members. The choir director is Christine Muniz. During the school day she is known as the librarian.

Crystal Apple Award at Spring Lake Elementary

Horace Mann Insurance Agency recently came to Spring Lake Elementary School, in Payson, to award the 2009-2010 Crystal Apple Award to third grade teacher, Douglas Lai. Mr. Lai was voted the Crystal Apple Award by his fellow teachers at Spring Lake. Doug is quite the team player at Spring Lake. Besides teaching his third grade students, he has served as the team leader in third grade, mentored many new teachers, served as the school technology expert, and worked hard behind the scenes as the UEA representative for the school. Mr. Lai's educational background includes an

Crystal Apple Award at East Meadows Elementary

by Garrett Andersen and Adam Gull, sixth-grade teaching colleagues

The Crystal Apple award this year goes to the brains of our operation. Julie Hammari leads our team through her talents, knowledge, abilities and height. She has been a great leader and teacher for both faculty and students here at East Meadows Elementary. She has always been willing to change a grade level because of her nature to be flexible and ability to work in any situation. This is most apparent in her current grade level team.

Lisa Walker - Teacher Feature

by Shelby Anderson, SHS Staff Writer

At the Sweethearts assembly on Friday, February 19, representatives from KSL and Zions Bank presented Lisa Walker with the “Teacher Feature” award. Walker was nominated by fellow colleagues Suzette Hartvigsen, teacher, and Rick Robins, former principal. Walker is the Emergency Medical and Exercise Science teacher at Springville High as well as head Athletic Trainer.

Nebo District Elementary Debate

Left to right (blond in yellow) Gracen Chiniquy 1st place affirmative, Brinley Nelson 1st place affirmative, Kyle Barton 3rd place affirmative, Bri Perkins 2nd place affirmative Elise Wilson 2nd place affirmative. Not pictured Ryan Hawkins 3rd place affirmative, Cate Cannon and Ashley Anderson 4th place affirmative team.