Park Elementary Recognized by Utah State Office of Education

Lana Hiskey

Park Elementary School has been recognized by the Utah State Office of Education as one of the 2011 Utah High Performing Title I Schools.  This recognition is for Utah Title I Schools that are able to demonstrate high levels of student achievement.  To earn the Utah High Performing Title I School Award, schools must make Annual Yearly Progress for at least two years, score at or above the state average on math and language arts tests, and be nominated by their district superintendents.  Park’s teachers, staff, students, and parents have worked very hard to accomplish this achievement.  Cong

Sage Creek Selected to Present at Nebo School Board Meeting

Lana Hiskey

Sage Creek Elementary second-grade teachers, Mrs. Brown, Mrs. Lund, Mrs. Greenwood, Mrs. Ellis, and Ms. Sayers presented to the Nebo School Board of Education. Sage was invited to share their exemplary teaching practices in integrating the fine arts curriculum into academic subjects throughout the day.  The second-grade teachers explained that initially the teachers reviewed their existing curriculum map and highlighted what the teachers were already doing in the fine arts areas. 

Nebo School Board and East Meadows Honors First Responders

Lana Hiskey

On October 13, an East Meadows student, unexpectedly collapsed on the playground. Becky Paice, the physical education teacher, quickly called the office. Office secretary, Janell Haskell, and office assistant, Linda Beck, responded.   Mrs. Haskell began CPR while Mrs. Beck called 911.  Mrs. Jen Jolley, the student’s classroom teacher, and Mr. Garrett Andersen, a mentor, also came to assist.

Nebo School District Response to Power Outage

Nebo District schools have been without power since shortly after 9:00 a.m. this morning. Power in some of our schools has started to come on.

Nebo School District will follow the normal Wednesday schedule including bus schedules and dismissal times.

Parents are welcome to pick up their student if they choose by following normal checkout procedures.

All students have had an opportunity to receive a light lunch. There will be no charge for school lunch today.

Springville FFA attends the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis

Ten students from Springville High School FFA chapter had the opportunity to attend the 84th National FFA Convention to compete in contests, receive awards and improve leadership skills. 

Picture (L to R – back row)  Shane Holm, Monica Giffing (Advisor), Darryl Barnes, Jason Averett, Elias Atkinson, Lauren Ridge (L to R – front row)  Brayden Spencer, Taylor Hill, Autymn Schouten, and Christina Nolasco.

Local Students do amazing in a national FFA Competition -