You are here

Suzanne Kimball Selected Utah Middle School Principal of the Year

Submitted by lana.hiskey on Fri, 01/20/2012 - 12:08pm
Lana Hiskey

The Utah Association of Secondary School Principals (UASSP) selected Nebo School District’s Mapleton Junior High Principal, Suzanne Kimball, as Utah Middle School Principal of the Year.

Mrs. Kimball began her education career as an English teacher at Springville Middle School in 1992 where she later became the assistant principal and then principal. Mrs. Kimball opened the new Mapleton Junior High School that has over 1,200 students. She is currently assigned to Salem Junior High, which is under construction. 

“I share this award with all of the hard working educators at Mapleton Jr. High.  They truly have worked tirelessly in their commitment to develop a culture of continued improvement for themself and ultimately for student learning.  It has been a pleasure working with such devoted professionals,” said Mrs. Suzanne Kimball.

Mrs. Kimball has received numerous awards and honors including: the Excellence of Education Award from the PTA in 2001 and the Reading Principal of the Year Award for Nebo in 2005-2006 by the Utah Council of the International Reading Association.

"Mrs. Kimball truly shines as a principal. She has been a leader in our district in implementing professional Learning Communities, data driven assessments and curriculum development," said Kristen Betts, a member of the Mapleton Junior High community council and PTA.  "As a principal, she genuinely cares for the students under her direction and wants each one of them to be successful."

Rick Robbins, former principal at Springville High in Nebo School District until 2009 before moving to Juab High, was also honored as High School Principal of the Year.

Dana McConnell, former teacher and coach in Nebo School District before becoming an assistant principal in the Washington School District, was named Utah Assistant Principal of the Year.

Kimball, Robbins, and McConnell will represent Utah at the National Secondary Principal Convention in Washington D.C. where they will attend an award gala and workshops.

For more information, go to