Five affirmative and five negative teams (20 students) competed in the Utah Debate 2010 Elementary Division II on Friday April 23 2010. Students from Brockbank, Hobble Creek, and Mapleton Elementary debated "Resolved: that the state of Utah should develop a policy to expand energy exports within in its borders."

The Utah Debate program is conducted in cooperation with" Alpine, Beaver, Cache, Canyons, Granite, Jordan, Logan, Murry Nebo, Salt Lake, and Tooele School Districts, Private and Charter Schools, Office of the Governor's Energy Advisor, Utah Department of Environmental Quality National Energy Foundation.

Three students were awarded speaker awards for their individual performance: Brinley Nelson who is a student at Hobble Creek Elementary, Kyle Barton and Ryan Hawkins who are students at Mapleton Elementary. Kyle Barton and Ryan Hawkins were awarded medals for being the sixth place team.