Diamond Fork Junior High School Students Named National Finalists in the Bright Schools Competition

Spanish Fork, Utah--April 24, 2017--Taylar Brittain, Cindy Elmer, Jessica Haderlie, and Kiki Conklin along with coach Julie Nance, of Diamond Fork Junior High School in Spanish Fork, Utah have been named national finalists in the 2nd annual Bright Schools Competition™. The competition is a collaborative effort of the National Sleep Foundation and the National Science Teachers Association that encourages students in grades 6-8 to explore the correlation between light and sleep and how it influences student health and performance.

Second Annual Nebo Distirct Mathlete Olympiad Competition 2017

Lana Hiskey

Nebo District Mathlete Olympiad competition was held at Sage Creek Elementary last week where thirty-six top math students competed in the event open to fourth, fifth, and sixth graders from across the district. Using Olympiad questions from the MOEMS organization (Math Olympiads for Elementary and Middle Schools), students were given 30 minutes to solve as many advanced math problems as possible, scoring one point for each correct answer. Congratulations to the winning students in each grade level category:

Overall Winner: Tyler Jackson

Nebo College and Technical Education Scholarships Announced

Nebo College and Technical Education Scholarships announced this week.

CTE Scholarships Announced

Mountainland ATC – One Year Full Tuition Waiver
Utah Valley University – One Year Full Tuition Waiver

Maple Mountain High
Amber Ray Utah Valley University, Cosmetologist
Talia Zeeman Mountainland ATC, Cosmetologist

Payson High
Allison Nielson Utah Valley University, Drafter
Guadalupe Lopez Mountainland ATC, Medical Assistant

Nebo Honoring Secretaries 2017 - Answer to Wednesday Challenge

Lana Hiskey

Secretaries across Nebo School District were honored last week with an Hawaiian Luau theme. The new officers voted in are: Joy Maughan, Maple Mountain High, President; Diane Wisom, Landmark/Maple Mountain High, President-Elect; Liana Jackson, District Office, Secretary; and representatives Lisa Pruitt, Mt. Loafer Elementary; Cheryl Davis, Maple Mountain High; Liz Worthen, Salem Hills High; and Alice Wilson, Mt. Nebo Junior.

Nebo Education Foundation Gives Grants April 2017

Lana Hiskey

The Nebo Education Foundation is composed of 20 volunteer board members who live in cities serviced by Nebo School District. Board members meet each month to review and award grant requests, consider fund-raising avenues and other items that advance the educational opportunities for Nebo School District students. Many of the donations received are for selected projects, yet a substantial amount is available for the greatest need. Greatest need monies are considered for grants submitted by area schools.

Nebo's Amy Huhtala, Salem Junior, Honored by Teacher Feature

Lana Hiskey

Nebo’s Amy Huhtala, Salem Junior teacher, was surprised by KSL and Zions Bank as their “Teacher Feature” this week.

Mrs. Huhtala receives season tickets to the Hale Centre Theatre, an overnight stay at the Anniversary Inn, and a certificate for dinner at the Roof Restaurant. Additionally, teachers honored as “Teacher Feature” award can choose to enter the KSL Teacher Feature Car Contest where they can become eligible for the chance to win a two-year lease on a new 2017 vehicle, provided by Burt Brothers Tires and Service.

2017 Title 1 Preschool Screenings, April 21 & 28


Each year, Nebo School District offers free screenings for preschool aged children who live within Title 1 school catchment areas to apply for preschool.  Preschool is offered free of charge but parents are expected to volunteer in the classroom each month.  The preschool age child must be 4 years old by September 1, 2017. Please call your TItle 1 school to make an appointment. Please note that you will also need to bring proof of residency (i.e.utility bill with your printed address, drivers license, etc) with you to your screening appointment.