Congratulations to MMHS Science State Champions

Lana Hiskey

Maple Mountain High School science students are State Champions for the third year in a row. 

Teacher, Kyle Miller, said, “We’re kind of excited over here in science land. These kids pulled it off again and won state for the third year in a row. They’ve really worked hard this year.”

The students plan on competing at the Nationals Science Competition in Ohio on May 19 and 20, 2017. 

Nebo School District Retires a Record Number in 2017 - Answer to Wednesday Challenge

Retirement Program Book by David Wadley

Nebo is retiring a record number of employees this year with a total of 147 employees. These dedicated employees served approximately 3,722.45 years for Nebo School District attending to our precious students in a variety of capacities. Thank you, Nebo Employees, for your many years of commitment to the education of our students who will be our leaders of tomorrow.  

Congratulations to all Nebo retirees and remember what C. S. Lewis stated, "You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream."

Diamond Fork Junior Students win Innovator of the Year BYU Competition


Congratulations to Diamond Fork students: Stirling Maughan, Caleb Crawford, and Howard Crawford who won third place at the Innovator of the Year competition at BYU. The students designed a school locker organizer and competed against 30 teams. The Diamond Fork Junior team won $400 and will split it three ways.  


Diamond Fork Junior High School Students Named National Finalists in the Bright Schools Competition

Spanish Fork, Utah--April 24, 2017--Taylar Brittain, Cindy Elmer, Jessica Haderlie, and Kiki Conklin along with coach Julie Nance, of Diamond Fork Junior High School in Spanish Fork, Utah have been named national finalists in the 2nd annual Bright Schools Competition™. The competition is a collaborative effort of the National Sleep Foundation and the National Science Teachers Association that encourages students in grades 6-8 to explore the correlation between light and sleep and how it influences student health and performance.

Second Annual Nebo Distirct Mathlete Olympiad Competition 2017

Lana Hiskey

Nebo District Mathlete Olympiad competition was held at Sage Creek Elementary last week where thirty-six top math students competed in the event open to fourth, fifth, and sixth graders from across the district. Using Olympiad questions from the MOEMS organization (Math Olympiads for Elementary and Middle Schools), students were given 30 minutes to solve as many advanced math problems as possible, scoring one point for each correct answer. Congratulations to the winning students in each grade level category:

Overall Winner: Tyler Jackson

Nebo College and Technical Education Scholarships Announced

Nebo College and Technical Education Scholarships announced this week.

CTE Scholarships Announced

Mountainland ATC – One Year Full Tuition Waiver
Utah Valley University – One Year Full Tuition Waiver

Maple Mountain High
Amber Ray Utah Valley University, Cosmetologist
Talia Zeeman Mountainland ATC, Cosmetologist

Payson High
Allison Nielson Utah Valley University, Drafter
Guadalupe Lopez Mountainland ATC, Medical Assistant

Nebo Honoring Secretaries 2017 - Answer to Wednesday Challenge

Lana Hiskey

Secretaries across Nebo School District were honored last week with an Hawaiian Luau theme. The new officers voted in are: Joy Maughan, Maple Mountain High, President; Diane Wisom, Landmark/Maple Mountain High, President-Elect; Liana Jackson, District Office, Secretary; and representatives Lisa Pruitt, Mt. Loafer Elementary; Cheryl Davis, Maple Mountain High; Liz Worthen, Salem Hills High; and Alice Wilson, Mt. Nebo Junior.