Nebo District Debate

Carol Day

Hobble Creek Elementary Hosted the Nebo District Elementary Debate, and 100 students from Hobble Creek Elementary, Mapleton Elementary, Salem Elementary, Brockbank Elementary, and Spanish Fork Junior High debated the following resolution: “Utah government should provide an incentive or tax credit to businesses who give their employees a public transit pass.”

Wilson Elementary Delights Nebo School Board of Education

Lana Hiskey

Wilson Elementary Delights Nebo School Board of Education 

Michael Brokaw, Wilson’s School Community Council representative, presented to the Nebo School Board of Education in March on how Trustlands money is being used. Mr. Brokaw presented Wilson’s goals about the School Improvement Plan in the areas of reading, fine arts, Professional Learning Communities (PLC's), and technology. 

Wilson’s guitar club, recorder club, and school choir performed a combined musical number entitled, "The Lion Sleeps Tonight". 

Jo-Anns Donates to Larsen Elementary - Answer to Wednesday's Challenge

In March at Jo-Ann Fabric and Craft’s ribbon cutting ceremony, Principal Garrett Andersen at Larsen Elementary was awarded a $2,000 donation as part of their Grand Opening.  Larsen has had a great relationship with Jo-Ann’s in conjunction with the Afterschool 4-H program. 

The Larsen Afterschool 4-H program offers many classes in arts, crafts and sewing which helped to create a lasting relationship with the Spanish Fork JoAnn's store. 

MMHS Wins First Place With Science Olympiad Team

Maple Mountain High School’s Science Olympiad team competed at Snow College in 24 events in science, technology and engineering.  MMHS took First in 20 of the events and First Place Overall. Also, MMHS received the sportsmanship award. 

MMHS also won First Place overall and won medals in 16 of the 20 events at the Westminister College.

SHS Student, Genna Murray, Received Appointment to West Point Academy

Genna Murray, SHS student, received an appointment to the US Military Academy at West Point. Genna was recruited to run track. She received a nomination from Jason E Chaffetz the U.S. Representative for Utah's 3rd congressional district, and Michael Shumway "Mike" Lee the junior United States Senator from Utah. Genna made the First Team All-State last year in the 300 meter hurdles and 4x100 meter relay. According to West Point's website, the scholarship is valued at $250,000 dollars.

Congratulations Genna on a job well done! Genna is the daughter of Ryan and Julia Murray.

EagleBots take Second Place - Answer to "Where Are We Wednesday?"

Last week's "Where Are We Wednesday?" features the MMHS EagleBots robotics team, whom took second place at the first regional held at the Maverick Center in West Valley on Saturday, March 14, 2015. The MMHS Robotics team competed with 53 teams from 11 states and Canada. The MMHS "Eaglebots" soared into second place! They and the other two teams on their alliance came close to qualifying for nationals! Many MMHS students worked really hard to make their robot successful! Thanks to all those who supported them! 

Mayor Clyde Recognizes Nebo Students

Springville students continue to showcase their great talents and abilities for the Mayor’s Recognition Awards.  Award recipient Peggy Sorenson, Springville High School twelfth-grade student, “wants to be a Chemistry teacher… She is a very positive person and always makes others feel good about our school and community,” according to SHS Principal Mike Brown.  

Daniel Beach is in seventh grade at Springville Junior High.  “Daniel loves to read and challenges himself to excel, reading books well above his reading level,” reveals Stephanie Riggs, Language Arts teacher. 

Vaccine Clinics

Suzanne Livingston

Nebo School District, along with the Utah County Health Department, will be having three vaccine clinics.  These clinics will help students entering Kindergarten and 7th grade.  Employees can also receive their immunizations.  See the Vaccine Clinics Flyer for details. 

All patrons and employees of Nebo School District are welcome.