Kevin Mecham Selected for Nebo District's Leadership Preparation Program

Lana H. Hiskey - Public Information Officer - Nebo School District

Kevin Mecham, mathematician teacher at Payson High, was selected by Nebo School District to be the Nebo participant for the Leadership Preparation Program (LPP) for BYU for the 2010-2011 school year.

Mr. Mecham has been a teacher in Nebo School District for nine years teaching Geometry, Algebra II, and College Prep Math. He also advises the student council at PHS.

Mother receives Congressional Gold Medal posthumously

by Cindy Gerow, A Special Ed nurse at Oakridge School

“This March, as our nation celebrates Women’s History Month, a special group of women gathered in Washington, filling the massive Emancipation Hall of the new Capitol Visitors Center to receive long overdue recognition for their pioneering service to our nation during World War II. These inspiring heroines were the first women to fly military aircraft and blazed a trail in the sky that opened the door for today’s women military pilots.

Title 1 Preschool Screenings

Each year, Nebo School District offers free screenings for children ages 3 and 4 who live within Title 1 school catchment areas to apply for preschool. Preschool is offered free of charge but parents are expected to volunteer in the classroom each month. The preschool age child must be 3 or 4 years old by September 1, 2010. Please call your school to make an appointment.

Location & Dates
April 30, 2010 8 a.m – 3 p.m.

Cherry Creek Elementary

Taylor Elementary (Can live in Taylor or Wilson boundaries) (801-465-6050)

Autism Council of Utah Honors Teacher

Jody Tobler of Foothills Elementary School is being honored by the Autism Council of Utah for positive practices that can be replicated by other classrooms across the state. Jody has worked for Nebo School District for the last 11 years. This is her first year teaching the Preschool 25-hour Autism Unit. She currently works with six children with the help of three aides and thoroughly enjoys it. Jody will be recognized and honored at the State Capitol on April 8, 2010.

Nebo Education Foundation Funds Grants in March

The Nebo Education Foundation board met in March and approved the following grants.

Mapleton Junior

Tim Thompson, teacher on special assignment; Scott Johnson, assistant principal; Suzanne Kimball, principal; Gayle Gammell, foundation board member; Susan Frischknecht, foundation treasurer

Nebo Education Foundation awarded a technology grant to Mapleton Junior (MJHS) this month for audio enhancements.

Local Business donates to the Nebo Education Foundation

Lana H. Hiskey - Public Information Officer - Nebo School District

Local State Farm Insurance agent, Lance Wilson along with retired State Farm agent Steve Wilson, present Nebo Foundation Director, Lana Hiskey a check for $500 from State Farm Insurance in recognition of the Wilson’s countless hours of volunteer service to the schools in Nebo District. The money will be used to enhance various programs at the local high schools.

Barnett Elementary Presented to Nebo School Board of Education

Lana H. Hiskey - Public Information Officer - Nebo School District

Barnett Elementary’s after-school choir delighted the Nebo School Board of Education with two choral numbers. This after-school choir was formed four years ago and has grown to over 80 members. The choir director is Christine Muniz. During the school day she is known as the librarian.

Crystal Apple Award at Spring Lake Elementary

Horace Mann Insurance Agency recently came to Spring Lake Elementary School, in Payson, to award the 2009-2010 Crystal Apple Award to third grade teacher, Douglas Lai. Mr. Lai was voted the Crystal Apple Award by his fellow teachers at Spring Lake. Doug is quite the team player at Spring Lake. Besides teaching his third grade students, he has served as the team leader in third grade, mentored many new teachers, served as the school technology expert, and worked hard behind the scenes as the UEA representative for the school. Mr. Lai's educational background includes an

Crystal Apple Award at East Meadows Elementary

by Garrett Andersen and Adam Gull, sixth-grade teaching colleagues

The Crystal Apple award this year goes to the brains of our operation. Julie Hammari leads our team through her talents, knowledge, abilities and height. She has been a great leader and teacher for both faculty and students here at East Meadows Elementary. She has always been willing to change a grade level because of her nature to be flexible and ability to work in any situation. This is most apparent in her current grade level team.